Emacs 28.2

Now that I have Debian bookworm up to date, I can install Emacs 28.2!

sudo apt build-dep emacs
sudo apt install libgccjit-12-dev
sudo apt install libjansson-dev

cd ~/Downloads
gpg --verify emacs-28.2.tar.xz.sig
cd
tar xf ~/Downloads/emacs-28.2.tar.xz
cd emacs-28.2
./autogen.sh
./configure --with-native-compilation
make -j16
make check
sudo make install

Okay, I think all is well!

❯ which emacs
/usr/local/bin/emacs

❯ emacs --version
GNU Emacs 28.2
Copyright (C) 2022 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
GNU Emacs comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY.
You may redistribute copies of GNU Emacs
under the terms of the GNU General Public License.
For more information about these matters, see the file named COPYING.

Let's try it! I don't want to mess up my .emacs.d directory, so I'll start it plain

❯ emacs -Q

Now, let's double-check the native compilation

M-x describe-variable RET system-configuration-features RET
Emacs screenshot with NATIVE_COMP highlighted.

Keen! Now I think I'll back up the .emacs.d directory and make a new one for Emacs 28. I want to be able to still run Emacs 27 if I have to and I don't think they play nice together.